Lee County NewsTupelo News

Lee County added to mask mandate by Governor Tate Reeves

Governor Tate Reeves announced on Thursday that Lee County would be under a mask mandate due to a rise in the number of COVID19 cases recently.

The Governor also announced that eight additional counties within our state had reached the hotspot threshold set by state health experts. Under Executive Order No. 1515, the following counties have been added to the county-specific executive orders with tighter social distancing measures going into effect on Monday, August 3 to help limit transmission.

The counties that were added to the mandate are Carroll, Coahoma, Jones, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Noxubee, and Pontotoc.

“Mississippi’s COVID-19 spread is still happening rapidly. We have to stay in the fight. We see early hints that your efforts are working. That is a sign to keep pressing, not declare victory. I just want you to know that your increased focus is having an impact. You have the power to save lives, or cost them,” Reeves said at his daily press briefing.

This comes as Mississippi as a whole had their highest one day total number of cases reported.

Today MSDH is reporting an additional 1,775 cases of COVID-19 in Mississippi and 48 deaths (23 of which occurred between July 10 and July 27, identified from death certificates). Mississippi’s total of COVID-19 cases for the year now stands at 57,579, with 1,611 deaths.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *